African Union

Committee Description

The African Union unites 55 nations across the continent of Africa to promote cooperation and solidarity between African states. It was established on the May 26, 2001 in Addis Ababa in Ethiopia as a replacement for the now defunct Organization of African Unity. The committee meets semi-annually at the Assembly of the African Union to discuss pertinent issues and fitting solutions.

Since its inception, the African Union has facilitated profound cooperation and deliberation between its member states. From raising the quality of life for millions of Africans to standing up against civil rights abuses and undemocratic practices, the African Union plays an integral role in the healthy functioning of the African Continent.

The African Union is an intermediate committee. Delegates with some experience in MUN are preferred, although anybody with ability and interest may be chosen for this committee.

To view the country matrix, please click here.

Topics | Backgrounders

Topic A: Female Genital Mutiliation

Topic B: Coltan Mining in the Congo

Backgrounders will be available in the near future. Please check again later.